the grass is greener on the internet


Farah Sidek
November 19, 2010, 1:07 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

The World’s Coolest Intern will be announced tomorrow – that is, Saturday Nov 20!

It’s been an amazing ride and the experience of applying for it was almost an internship in itself. Even if I don’t win, I’m still learnt a lot and met some great people along the way!

One of those people is the lovely Farah:

Even if our universities are competing for fourth place in Australia, we agreed to interview each other about the competition and why we should be the World’s Coolest Intern!

What was your main reason for entering the World’s Coolest Intern?

The main reason was that I was attracted to the competition was the social media training that would be given to the winner. Receiving coaching and training from the top social media gurus in Singapore is extremely invaluable (something you can’t sign up or just pay for) and would go a long way in coaching me to great social media marketer in the future.

Give us three reasons why you should be the World’s Coolest Intern…

(1) I am always curious and willing to learn. (2) I believe I can create content that attracts and engages the audience. It helps that I have a strong foundation in writing and communicating which is essential for the job. (3) I’ve got some great ideas that I could bring to the team. Essentially, Willingness, Content and Ideas = WCI.

What’s the craziest thing you’d do to get the job?

The craziest thing I would do to get WCI is to dance my signature Single Ladies dance for the job. Though my moves are likely to horrify Beyonce, the laughs that it usually gets would be priceless?

[Ed note: I’ve gotta see this.]

What’s one thing you’ve learnt from social media that you would never have learnt otherwise?

Well, from the top of my mind, with Breeze having over 2000 followers, it shows that even banks can break out of the traditional view of being stereotyped as being too corporate, and actually be fun and engaging.

What would be your first action as the World’s Coolest Intern?

My first action as WCI would be to get to know the Breeze team well since they would be the ones I’m working together with. I believe it would be important to build rapport with them, learn their expectations from the intern, and set achievable objectives for the short time frame of six months.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Kat, just saw this piece and I’m really glad we decided to do the exchange! Thanks very much for the piece, and I’ve written mine for Jonha as well. Whatever the result tomorrow, do keep in touch:). Cheers! Farah

Comment by Farah Sidek

What a brilliant idea, and what a great post! Kudos to both Farah and Katherine for this one …

Comment by Keith Timimi

[…] already seen my post on Farah – the more I talk to her, the more I’m impressed by the class with which she handles […]

Pingback by Your next social media intern « the grass is greener on the internet




Leave a Reply

