the grass is greener on the internet


Supermodelme: the wrap
August 21, 2009, 11:16 pm
Filed under: 1 | Tags: ,

I reported on SuperModelMe, the innovative social media venture, back before it started – so with less than 24 hours left of voting it’s time to see how it’s been going.

"OMG how did we do? How do I vote?"

"OMG how did we do? How do I vote?"

I have to say that the stats are a little interesting…

463 views to the final competitive episode 5 days after upload (777 views on the episode before at time of posting)

1227 votes on the online poll

1992 Facebook fans

759 Twitter followers

I count 14 different Tweeters commenting on the contest in the last day (not including spam)

21 votes cast through Twitter (and some just don’t understand you can’t vote more than once)

Of course, the important stats, which I’d love to have access to, are the number of clicks on the merchandise advertised and subsequent purchases…but no word on the success rate for Hyperspot.

Overall, is it a success?

Definite publicity tick for the host Charmain Harn, all of the photographers and stylists, as well as part-time club part-time restaurant Mimolette.

The show has also been credited by a couple of press sources as helping to boost demand for Asian models in the fashion world.

Still I admit to some disappointment over the last episode’s viewing stats – less than 500 views for a video involving a nude shoot? Are you kidding me?

Perhaps it has something to do with the steadily grainier video quality throughout the season.

Or maybe just that nobody does a reality show quite like the Americans. After watching an episode of the Amazing Race I realised how much more willing they are to just get up and do crazy (or dumb) stuff for the amusement of others. In this case, things which were meant to shock (ie. house rules of no mobile phones) somehow didn’t feel so important, and diaries (both blogs and video) sometimes came across as scripted.

I surf a few popular Singaporean blogs which regularly advertise to what I’d imagine to be the target market and I didn’t see anything, which I’m curious about.

Overall, it seems to have done well but there’s room for improvement if a second season is produced. Hey, I enjoyed it! But I’m not tell you who I’m voting for 😉

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I hope for a supermodelme season 2 =D

Comment by Suhana

Oh, oh.. I did a fan blog site foe supermodelme Check it out! 😉

Comment by Suhana




Leave a Reply

