the grass is greener on the internet


Not the execution machine
December 16, 2008, 7:33 pm
Filed under: 1 | Tags: , , ,

I’ve just started some work for Provokator, a free mapazine in Praha providing a voice for local music, art, culture, social&political commentary, etc.

I think I’ve talked before about my dread of having to start a career as just a cog in the execution machine. That’s why SME and NFP life is so addictive…it’s an environment where everyone has to chip in and do things they’ve never done before just to make sure the business runs. Most of all, people are more likely to be there because they really really want to be.

They’re definitely not in it for the money – which is the one downside. No subsidies, all expense covered trips, maybe not even any pay for work.

But we do it because we love it.

Finding what you love and actually doing it is something I wish I saw more often, and I like the description here.

Anyway, I’m really looking forward to the rest of my time with the magazine, I can definitely cope with ‘surf youtube or get fired’…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

