the grass is greener on the internet


Talk is cheap, ads aren’t
October 24, 2008, 1:04 pm
Filed under: 1

Non-strategic ad campaigns annoy me.

ESPECIALLY when it’s a not-for-profit that says it needs money from me.

I don’t want to name the organisation, because I believe they have a worthy cause. And they had the kind of ad that catches the attention of bored commuters like myself as we trundle from one bus stop to another.

But seriously, outdoor advertising is one of the most expensive forms, and if you’re in a bus stop you have maybe ten seconds to make an impression and get your point across.

This just didn’t do it.

It got my attention, sure. But then all it said was, ‘celebrating [x] years’. No call to action. No ‘hey, we’re having an event and can you come along?’. No ‘don’t you want to find out more about us?’.

The thing is, I KNOW that they’re looking for money at the moment, but when they waste money on outdoor ads like that to say nothing at all except that they exist, it really makes me wonder whether they need it.

[/rant]

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

