the grass is greener on the internet


PR 2.0
January 24, 2009, 7:05 pm
Filed under: 1 | Tags: ,

We know what works, let’s stick with it.

WRONG.

I do believe what Monocle said in their last edition; to be effective in the days of Web 2.0 journalists should combine some of the ‘old world’ skills with ‘new world’ sensibilities.

Time for PR to get up with it.

I don’t even receive *that* many PR kits, but the moment I feel like I’m being sold (and usually in a mass spam way) I get on the defensive. Sure, I want to deliver good content to my blog readers – I am a web journalist of sorts. But the old ‘send a press release to everyone you know’ doesn’t work anymore.

Especially when your ‘exciting news’ isn’t related to my blog content at all.

Some rules remain:

  • you need to get in contact with a lot of the media
  • you need to make us feel good about writing your story

A pitch along the lines of ‘don’t know what to post today? Here’s something’ translates more to ‘you wouldn’t usually blog this but if you’re absolutely desperate…’ – if I’m hunting for a story at the last minute what kind of write-up are you going to get?

I can’t speak for all bloggers, but I would prefer to stumble upon stories myself. Even if it’s by someone Tweeting it, then I’ll know that they found it interesting and if I find it interesting too I might spread the word.

Finding that story gives me a sense of achievement…not of spam.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

